Two Hearts


The Immaculate Heart of Mary is pictured with flame, ringed with roses and a sword piercing the heart.  The sacred Heart of Jesus shows a heart entwined with thorns and flames, and sprouting a cross from the top.

The image of the Sacred Heart of Jesus originated in late 17-century France when Sister Marguerite Marie Alacoque (Mary-Margaret) began to reveal her visions of Jesus and his Sacred Heart.

The devotions of The Immaculate Heart of Mary  can be traced to saints Anselm and Bernard of Clairvaux in the eleventh and twelfth centuries, and popularized in the seventeenth century by Saint Jean Eudes.

          The roses surrounding Mary’s heart symbolize heavenly joy. Lilies are often used in their place as a symbol of purity. Roses surrounding Mary’s heart are reminiscent of the Franciscan Crown.  the start of that rosary was influenced by a Friar placing a crown of roses on the statue of Mary as a personal prayer devotion. Recall that The Franciscan crown is the praying of the ‘Joys of Mary’ and if there was one joy of Mary it was faithfulness to God. Mary’s heart is a Joyful heart pierced.

“Behold, this child is destined for the fall and rise of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be contradicted and you yourself a sword will pierce” (Lk 2:34-35).

Mary knew the Joy of God and Faithfulness to God; yet her heart was pierced by those who knew neither. Yet, in that Pierced heart Mans return to Gods Joy was restored as was mans  Faith in God. This is Christ’s passion.

               The sacred heart contains two references to Christ’s passion, the crown of thorns and the cross. A crown of thorns as mockery of his kingship and the cross by which by which Mary’s heart was pierced , the cross of salvation. Through Mary’s pierced heart we receive her immaculate heart, her Joyous heart.If Mary’s heart references the Joyful mysteries,the Sacred heart references the sorrowful.Interestingly, the Glorious mysteries belong both to the Sacred Heart (Resurrection,Ascension) and the Immaculate(Assumption, Coronation). The fifth of the Glorious Mysteries, the descent of the Holy Spirit, Pentecost;is the birth of the Church and Mary is the model of that Church. A church where Jesus the Christ, her son, is the head.Both the Immaculate Heart and the Sacred Heart contain a flame, a tongue of fire.. .. .

               It seems only fitting that these two feast days should reside side by side, The sacred Heart of Jesus on a Friday and Mary’s on a Saturday. Friday a perpetual reminder of Calvary, Saturday a perpetual memorial to the blessed virgin.These are two hearts that can not be separated. It is through one that the other is explained.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s